Thursday, November 30, 2017

Lifeboats (3) : RNLB Dorothy and Philip Constant

Another preserved boat at Gloucester.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Aberystwyth Lifeboat Station

The RNLI station has been established since 1861.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Lifeboats (2) : RNLB Richard Vernon and Mary Garforth of Leeds

Preserved boat at Gloucester.

Monday, November 27, 2017

Lifeboats (1) : Blue Peter 1

This week's theme is the RNLI and the lifeboats that save so many lives around the British Isles. Starting with the Atlantic 75 boat B-779 Blue Peter I at Gloucester.


Friday, November 24, 2017

Reflections

Although the canal is much reduced it still has an enjoyable towpath walk.

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Marker

Looking like a Google Maps pin made real or a giant bottle opener this marker shows where this stretch of Sankey Canal ends.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Sankey Bridge 29

Another dead end, a railway bridge which still bears LNWR signs.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Monday, November 20, 2017

Sankey Canal

This week's theme is the Sankey Canal at St Helens, once the key point of the canal (such that the canal was also known as the St Helens Canal) but now the canal is much depleted and just consists of two disjointed parts of waterways though there are plans to restore it. The full photos set can be seen here.

Monday, November 13, 2017

Preston Bagot Bottom Lock 38

This week's theme is the Stratford Canal between Lapworth and Wootton Wawen, starting with this lock about half way.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Grand Junction Canal

Before this stretch of canal was part of the Grand Union it was the Grand Junction Canal, as is still proudly displayed on the side of Ravens Lane Bridge 142.

Monday, November 6, 2017

Grand Union through Berkhamsted

This week's theme is the Grand Union Canal as it passes through Berkhamsted.

Friday, November 3, 2017